Happy Pi Day!

I realized at 4pm today that it was pi day today and that I hadn’t made any pie. Mr. Bean has always been on my case to make a banana cream pie, but I’ve always refused as all I could think about what the banana petroleum products “cream” pie that they use to pie people at engineering school. Not exactly the best example of a good tasting pie.

In Cybele Pascal’s Allergen-Free Baker’s Handbook, there is a recipe for gluten, dairy, egg and soy free banana cream pie, so I thought that I might as well give it a go. I wanted to try a pie crust that didn’t require rolling and didn’t send the blood sugar soaring, so I thought I would try Elana’s Coconut Pie Crust from her Almond Flour Cookbook. Ironically, I didn’t have all the ingredients I needed for either recipe despite a trip to the grocery store, so I improvised and changed things up a bit. This may not be the absolute healthiest banana cream pie you’ve had, but it’s pretty darn close in my opinion.

The custard/cream is tasty but the texture is a bit different. I think it’s because I used tapioca starch instead of cornstarch. Use cornstarch! I’ve used cornstarch in pumpkin pies before and it worked well.

Banana Coconut Cream Pie

Coconut Almond Pie Crust

3/4 c. almond flour
1/4 c. shredded coconut, toasted
1/2 c. coconut flour
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 c. coconut oil, melted over low heat
1 tbsp. agave nectar
1 tsp. vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Mix together flours, coconut, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  3. Whisk together coconut oil, agave nectar and vanilla extract.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until combined.
  5. Press into a 9″ pie pan.
  6. Bake in oven for 7 – 10 minutes or until crust is golden brown. Let it cool completely on a cooling rack before filling.

Banana Coconut “Cream” Pie Filling

21 oz. coconut milk (about 1 1/3 cans – make sure you shake before you measure!)
1/4 c. + 3 tbsp. agave nectar, divided
1/4 c. + 2 tsp. corn starch (I used tapioca starch and it didn’t work as well as I would have hoped.)
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 egg replacer (1 1/2 tsp. egg replacer whisked in 2 tbsp. rice milk until frothy and no lumps remain)
3 – 4 ripe bananas, sliced thinly
Yellow food colouring (optional)

  1. Measure out 1/3 c. coconut milk and set aside. Heat the rest of the coconut milk with the 1/4 c. agave nectar in a saucepan over medium heat until bubble form on the sides of the pot. Remove from the heat.
  2. Whisk together set aside coconut milk, 3 tbsp. agave nectar, cornstarch, salt, vanilla and egg replacer. Pour into coconut milk mixture and stir to combine.
  3. Heat the mixture on medium heat until it starts to simmer, stirring constantly. Let it simmer for about 4 minutes or until it is thickened.
  4. Spread a small amount of the custard on the bottom of the pie crust. Lay one layer of bananas down.
  5. Pour about half the remaining custard over the bananas and spread evenly over bananas. Lay another layer of bananas down.
  6. Pour the remaining custard over the bananas and smooth the top.
  7. Let the pie cool until room temperature and then refrigerate until ready to serve. Make sure it’s cold before you cut so that doesn’t flomp like mine did!
  8. Enjoy!

What’s your favourite kind of pie?

Linked up to: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Hearth and Soul Hop-Volume 39, Gluten Free Wednesdays and Seasonal Sundays.

23 Comments

Filed under Baking

23 responses to “Happy Pi Day!

  1. I love pie. I didn’t growing up, but I do now. We actually had pie at our wedding! I can’t eat most fruit anymore, so I’d have to say either coconut creme or blueberry. But it used to be cherry.

    • That’s awesome that you had pie at your wedding! I don’t remember if we did as I couldn’t have eaten it anyways. :P

      Blueberry pie is very tasty! Have you tried Saskatoonberry pie? It’s also really good.

  2. Banana and coconut cream! What a match! I made myself banana, peanut butter and honey sandwich this morning for lunch, I’ll try your version next time.
    For more interesting recipes, check at:

    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes

    Hope you find recipes that you like.

  3. Thanks for your comment on my marmalade and the info about the wax. I read a little about using wax and saw it in the store, but I just wasn’t sure how to store the jars and how to cover them with the wax. And with just trying to figure out the marmalade recipe, it was just too many new things at once to try to figure out the wax thing:)

  4. I love this! Can’t wait to try it.

  5. Thanks for the wax info! Just one question — are the jars stored at room temperature after the wax is put on just like it was canned or do I need to refrigerate it? I’m thinking of trying this for the next batch:)

  6. Hi beanie baby! You know, the secret to tapioca starch is to pulverize it even more in a coffee bean grinder so that it is very fine then allow it to soak a bit in some liquid from the ingredients list. Part of the problem folks have is they dont let the tapioca which is literally a liquid absorbing jelling agent to fully absorb the liquid and turn from grainy to smooth. This recipe looks super yummy and I will be trying this no roll out pie crust because I still am by my own admission, no good at rolling out the crust! Thanks so much for sharing this lovely pi day pie, which is also MY birthday and Albert Einstein’s on the hearth and soul hop! All the best, alex

  7. oooh, looks sooo good:) My daughter has never cared much for coconut, but I think she would like this with the bananas in it. Will have to try this. Thanks for sharing:)

  8. Your pie looks delicious! I think my favorite is apple pie with ice or whipped cream. But I also love pumpkin and pecan. I totally forgot those when I thought of apple. I guess I just have a huge sweet tooth!

  9. I don’t know if I have just one favorite pie. I think it would be between my grandmothers butterscotch pie, a mint grasshopper pie, and a custard pie. Your banana cream pie recipe looks like it could be one of my soon to be favorites too! The crust looks so simple, thanks for sharing!

  10. Ooo, this looks yummy! I am looking for some good gluten free/dairy free dessert recipes, I might try this one out!

  11. I love the ingredients that you’ve used for this pie crust. I’ve been searching for a pie crust that doesn’t use a gazillion different types of flour, and this might be it:)

  12. wow!! this looks amazing! i can’t wait to try for my sister! &yes we love elana’s book too, even tho we have to sub in some stuff for my sis since she is way limited. :) and i love that you don’t run to the store, just add in what you have! thanks for sharing with us :)
    ps. grasshopper pie (where i come from) is chocolate cookie crust, minty cream cheese pie filling, topped with more chocolate &whipped cream. it is one of my sister’s favs, so am trying to do one with a combo of hemp &almond milk, as when i tried with coconut, it tasted minty and coconutty! lol so will keep you updated.

  13. Pingback: Pi Pie ;~) aka Cherry Cheesecake « ~♥~ Faith's Updates ~♥~

  14. Pingback: Mostly Raw Gluten Free Vegan Coconut Tarts with Berries (GAHIGF) | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

