Foto Friday: Shapes

Two years ago, I started to really get into cake decorating. Throughout a bunch of Wilton courses at my local Michaels, I learned how to ice cakes, make borders and flowers and play with fondant. Part of playing with fondant is using cutters to create cut-out shapes that can be used to decorate cakes. Sort of like this:

Or this:

I haven’t decorated cakes in a while – the whole trying not to eat much refined sugar thing doesn’t have me running to make one for myself – but I still have a bunch of cake decorating stuff kicking around, including lots of fondant cutters in various shapes. Fortunately, they also work really well on cookies. :)

When I found out that this week’s Foto Friday challenge was “Shapes,” I jumped at the chance to give these cutters another use – as subject matter!

Do you have any hobbies that you haven’t done in a while?

Household6Diva FotoFriday
Give me your best shot at Better in BulkPhotoStory Friday
Hosted by Cecily and Lolli

13 Comments

Filed under Photography

13 responses to “Foto Friday: Shapes

  1. That cookie cutter shot is amazing! I love it!

  2. I love the shape shot and would really like a piece of cake right now.

  3. Lovely photo with the molds to make cakes, very creative.

  4. Your cakes are amazing and I love the cookie cutter photo!

  5. I’m impressed by your cake decorating skills! What a great idea for the shapes prompt!

  6. I’ve always loved baking but I’m not as good as you are! Those are so so gorgeous!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  7. ostranderblog

    Wow your cakes are fabulous!! Love them, and feeling a tad hungry at the moment ;) yum. The shapes shot has a great distance and angle.

  8. Pingback: Adopt a Gluten Free Blogger: The Mommy Bowl | Without Adornment

  9. I love that cake with the flowers! So cute. And that shot is great.

  10. The cake a really nice. The shapes photo fun and creative.

  11. I love playing with fondant. It smells so good & it’s just fun. That flower cake is great.

  12. Those cakes are amazing! I wish I had that sort of talent! And love the cookie cutter photo. I love seeing other peoples’ photos…gives me a glimpse into how they see their world.

Leave a Reply

