Field By Night

I REALLY enjoy taking photos at night – it seems that it’s my latest photography drug of choice (except for the cold and wind factor, but I do it anyways like any addict. haha) Our trip to Field was no exception.

I’m always so fascinated to see what artificial light can do to familiar objects like trees at night. They don’t look nearly as interesting during the day.

But what do I find even more impressive? How the moon lights objects at night.

I felt really blessed and like we had perfect timing as the moon was full and the sky perfectly clear both nights I went out to take photos. Do you know what full moon + snow on mountains equals? Absolute beauty:

As I was shooting down by the tracks on the first night, suddenly things started to get a lot brighter. It startled me as “how could things get any brighter? The moon is out and all the lights around here are already on!” Then it dawned on me: it’s a train!  (Sometimes I have brilliant moments like these.) Fortunately I was far enough away from the tracks for them to not have to blow the horn at me – I’m sure I would have been very popular in Field the next day.

Of course, as is custom in Field, the train stopped to switch drivers, effectively blocking my path back up to our cabin. I was disappointed for a moment as I was getting ridiculously cold, but any excuse to keep shooting pictures is a good one, so I considered it an opportunity. (Plus, I didn’t really fancy having to try climbing over the train cars where they couple as it would probably start moving the moment I step on and freak me out. Probably not the best thing when you’re carrying lots of photography equipment.)

My Foto Friday Submission for Shadows

I was really happy when it started moving again as I was getting bloody cold from the wind and the cold!

When the train had finally passed through – trains always seem so much longer when you’re waiting for them out in the cold – I happily made my way back up to our cabin.

It took me almost 1 1/2 hours to warm up again, but for pictures like these, I’d say its worth it!

What is the most beautiful thing you’ve seen at night?

The photo of the still train has been submitted to this week’s Foto Friday prompt of “Shadows.”

Household6Diva FotoFriday

Do you want to try taking pictures like these? It’s pretty simple as all you need is a tripod and your camera on manual. For most of the pictures, I used ISO 200 – 320, exposure time of 20 – 30 seconds and an aperture of f/7.1. They vary depending on how bright you want your subject to be and how much ambient light there is. If you have any questions about the shooting info of any of these photos, just let me know!

24 Comments

Filed under Photography

24 responses to “Field By Night

  1. It looks like braving the cold and wind was worth it, these pictures are fantastic! Makes me wish I had a better camera, because mine is lousy in low light. I’ll be saving up my pennies :)

  2. Hi Bean. Your photos are absolutely beautiful. I love the moon shot. I walk my dogs every night and my favorite thing to do is look up at the sky. It’s always different and beautiful. Thank you for the photography tips! I really need to use our tripod more.

  3. LOVE the moon shot- If you caught my earlier posts this week you know that the moon is something I am working on. Each time it gets a bit easier – looking forward to the next full one to really practice. :)

    • Thanks! Taking photos of the moon is a bit trickier as you have to use a shorter exposure time than you except, especially when it’s full. I think I’ll try to talk about that later this week! :)

  4. These night shots are so beautiful. I’m inspired to get out there and try some myself.

  5. Love your night shots especially the one with the train passing through, love the movement capture. Thanks for stopping by today it great to meet you :)

  6. Wow these are beautiful. I love the stars peaking out.

  7. i’m so impressed that you got these with that aperture and ISO setting – nice work! thanks for sharing, i’m going to have to try some night shots now.

    • The trick is to use a really long exposure time. You could use a bigger ISO with a shorter exposure time/smaller aperture, but you’d get a lot more noise.

  8. ostranderblog

    I love trying out the settings you share, these photos are fantastic!! Really so clear and detailed.

    • Thank you! Using a low ISO helps with that. :)

      • ostranderblog

        Low ISO… you know last night my camera kept a high ISO I was having a problem… I’ll have to go to a full manual setting… also have you ever done any shots where there is low light with people? I was trying to take pics on the deck, back floodlight on, the people were all blury

        • With people, it’s best to up your ISO and use a shorter shutter speed as very few people can stay perfectly still for 20 seconds! Depending on your camera and how much you increased the ISO, you might have more digital noise than at a really low ISO. (Noise can be reduced a bit in photoshop/lightroom/etc.)

          Another option is to use a flash to freeze the people in the photo and then have the longer exposure for the surroundings. Maybe I should do a post on this… All I need to find are some people to take pictures of! haha.

  9. where are these photos taken at? I wannnnnnaaaaa goooo there! :)
    Thanks for stopping by!
    Mira

  10. I really need to try more night photography. I have to admit that part of my problem is that I’m just not patient enough. Yours are so great though that I’m inspired!! :)

  11. What beautiful photographs! What a beautiful place! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am glad that you found me! I look forward to sharing posts!

  12. Wow, the moon picture is breathtaking! Absolutely “heavenly,” LOL!
    The most beautiful thing I’ve seen at night? A sky full of thousands and thousands of stars, full moons over lakes, and happy faces around a campfire.

  13. Such beautiful photos! And that cabin is just quaint and gorgeous at the same time.

  14. Pingback: Top 11 Photos of 2011 | Without Adornment

  15. Pingback: Final Trip of 2013: Field! | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

