Field By Day

I seem to have a habit of going back to places repeatedly for vacations – Vancouver Island for one and Field for another. I guess they both just have so many good memories attached that we want to go back and add more! As promised, here are some photos from our trip. (For larger images, click on the photo!)

The weather in Field was pretty much as good as it gets – cold and clear! We only had a bit of snow the first night – no worries for skiing as there was a good 3 – 4 feet of snow on the ground!

In our first day of skiing, we skied 17 km (~11 miles). I was so proud of Mr. Bean for doing this – he’s such a trooper!

The second day we skied 9 km (~6 miles) – all the way to Banff National Park in Alberta!

As you can tell, it was beautifully sunny for pretty much the entire time. I love, love, LOVE taking photos of snow with harsh sunlight as it makes things that much more interesting. (As I found out for my final presentation/slideshow in my scenic and wildlife photography course, snow when it’s cloudy just looks gloomy and boring.)

To get the star effect, use a very small aperture. The effect is created by the light refracting around the blades of the shutter.

Most of these photos were taken at f/12 or smaller apertures. (In case you’re interested most of the photos were shot on Aperture priority mode with ISO 200. You could even use ISO 100 as there is enough light between the sun and the light reflecting off the snow.)

Note that it is VERY important to make sure your lens and sensor are clean while taking photos into the sun. It saves you so much time in editing photos. Not that I have any experience with that or anything. *cough*

On one of my photography walks, I saw some elk. I’m so glad I had my creeper telephoto lens as I really didn’t want to get that close.

Hello Ms. Elk - thank you for looking at me!

Field is really quite a cute village. I love it (obviously). There’s something really special about buildings covered in clean snow – especially with a beautiful clear blue sky and mountains in the background, don’t you think?

I’m always incredibly impressed with the icicles on some of the buildings. I wish I could have captured it better, but the sun through the icicles was like light through a prism – mini rainbows everywhere!

No trip to Field is complete without trains – it’s the stop before the Spiral Tunnels, so pretty much every train stops here to either gas up or switch drivers.

Dad, this photo is for you.

Train tracks always make good subject matter – leading lines and all that. :)

I found it interesting that pretty much the only really dirty snow was by the train tracks. I guess that’s what happens when you don’t salt the roads like there’s no tomorrow. Not that I know any city who does that, hey Calgary? The waiting for the chinook method of road clearing doesn’t work in Field.

Since I’m crazy, I (unsurprisingly) almost spent more time photographing at night than during the day. It’s weird because I almost enjoy taking photos more at night than during the day, despite it being below -20C (-4F) every night. I’ll be posting them soon enough!

Would you go outside when it’s below -20C to go take photos?

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Photography

6 responses to “Field By Day

  1. Gorgeous photos! I’d love to cross country ski someday, thanks for sharing!

  2. Well, since I’ve grown used to the -20C days in Calgary, I definitely wouldn’t mind going out to take pictures, as long as I have good subject matter like you did! You make Field look gorgeous.

  3. Lordy that’s what happened to me this AM, such a glorious sun rise. I kept opening the window to take pics as I sipped coffee from the second floor window. I love a great shot, and yes I’ve done the negative foto for a great shot but it REALLY has to motivate me. Thanks again for the settings, I had some sun shots your tips came in handy on!

  4. Pingback: Field By Night | Without Adornment

  5. Pingback: Cross Country Skiing | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

