Easy Kale Salad with Grapes, Cranberries and Pecans

Do you like kale? I’m really starting to, especially since it doesn’t appear to bother Mr. Bean too much and it’s something different from my usual leafy green spinach. I’ve made this salad a few times – the flavours really complement each other very well (sweet grapes + tangy dried cranberries + savoury pecans + slightly bitter kale + salt = delicious!) and it comes together in about 5 minutes. Easy and healthy – the best kind of salads!

Easy Kale Salad with Grapes, Cranberries and Pecans

1 small bunch of kale per person
Handful of grapes, sliced in half
1 – 2 tbsp. pecans per person
Dried Cranberries
Olive Oil
Kosher or Sea Salt

  1. Wash kale and rip into bit-sized pieces off of stem and stick in a steamer or pot with a small amount of water at the bottom.
  2. Steam kale until it just turns bright green. Drain and set aside to cool.
  3. Meanwhile, toast pecans in a frying pan until fragrant.
  4. Place kale in a bowl and top with grapes, dried cranberries and pecans.
  5. Drizzle with a small amount of olive oil and sprinkle with a pinch of salt.
  6. Enjoy by itself or with your favourite sandwich!

What is your favourite type of salad?

This recipe was submitted to Meatless Mondays, Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Gluten-Free Wednesdays, Real Food WednesdaysHearth and Soul Blog Hop and Seasonal Sundays.

19 Comments

Filed under Food

19 responses to “Easy Kale Salad with Grapes, Cranberries and Pecans

  1. I’ve bought kale dozens of times to feed to my guinea pigs, but I’m not sure that I’ve ever tried it before! Maybe next time I’ll give this salad a whirl.

    • Yeah, I think kale is usually overlooked – I just knew it from the garnish they sometimes put with meals at some restaurants and didn’t think you could actually eat it. I wasn’t really introduced to kale until just over a year ago – it’s definitely worth a try! I wouldn’t eat it raw and then it’s really bitter and tough.

  2. looks so nutritious! =D but i dont think we have kale or pecan around. what can we substitute them with? (and we only have canned cranberries here hehe)

    • For the kale, you could use any other leafy green vegetable – what kind you pick will determine whether or not you have to steam it. If you use some types of lettuce, arugula, spinach, etc. you can eat it raw! I’m not sure what kinds of leafy greens you have in the Philippines, but my recommendation would be to use what you have available!

      As for the dried cranberries, you can substitute them with pretty much any dried fruit you have available. I would love to add something like dried mango or papaya chunks to this salad!

      I hope you found that helpful!

  3. Bean, this salad looks beautiful! Kale is definitely on my radar as a power food. And the snowy pictures below are also incredible. I want to go there! What a great photographer you are.

  4. I absolutely adore kale, and love this combination of sweet, savory, tart that you’ve created. I have nut allergies, so cannot use the pecans in mine; however, I add toasted pumpkin seeds or sunflower seeds to give a nutty flavor & crunch.

    Gorgeous photog!!!

    ~Gigi :)

  5. This sounds really interesting. I would have never thought to put Kale and Grapes together. Kale in general frightens me.. But You are making me want to get brave! Also been wanting to try it in my smoothies..
    -Brittany-

    • I was pretty scared by it in the beginning as well! I just recommend don’t eat it raw by itself (at least for the first while – I haven’t quite got to that stage yet :P) as then it’s REALLY bitter. Also, make sure it looks nice as when it doesn’t, it doesn’t taste great either!

  6. What a wonderful salad. It is the kind that is special and I would feel like queen, sitting down to eat it.

  7. Hubs loves spinach salads, and I have a whole lot of kale that I was planning on dropping in a soup. In fact I have all those ingredients on hand. Sounds delish, I’ll make some tonight. Thanks for sharing.

  8. I love kale a lot. In Dutch it is called krul kool. I love this tasty salad. It is very apart of what I am used too!

    MMMMMM,….!!!!

  9. Ok, first of all, kale is one of my absolute favorites, so much nicer than spinach, imo. I’ve got a kale plant that is 11 months old, and has survived a hot hot summer and a freezing cold winter. I just love the idea of the nuts and grapes. Fantastic! Thanks for sharing with the Hearth and Soul hop :)

  10. simple and nutritious! i would love to have this now..

  11. The simple recipes are often the easiest….and the best tasting!

    Thanks for sharing at the hearth and soul hop.

  12. We absolutely love kale and I’ve prepared and served it many times. I have never served it as a salad and would have never thought to pair it with grapes. It’s absolutely beautiful and sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  13. Pingback: Pumpkin Cake Pops | Burnt Apple

Leave a Reply

