Vegan GF Strawberry Banana Loaf with Walnuts


You’ll probably think I’m crazy for saying this, but I ate meat for the first time in three weeks last night for dinner and it was glorious. Mr. Bean spoiled me and made me spaghetti and meatballs for dinner – unsurprisingly, I ate way too much. Who would have thought that I would be so keen about meat?

After sitting around for a while, I decided at 8:30 yesterday evening that I wanted to bake something – three weeks is a long time for someone who loves to bake! Given that I’m not yet eating eggs, dairy, chocolate and refined sugar, I was uncertain of what I should make and it took me a really long time to decide. Since we had a bunch of bananas in the freezer and baking with bananas generally means less sugar, I decided to make banana loaf. However, our bigger loaf pan was dirty and me being lazy didn’t feel like cleaning it (everyone has those moments), so I decided to make it in a cake pan. I’m such a rebel.

This loaf/cake is fairly dense and quite filling, yet delicious! It was a perfect coming home after a workout snack.

Strawberry Banana Loaf with Walnuts

1 c. brown rice flour
1/3 c. potato starch
1/2 c. sorghum flour
2 tbsp. quinoa flour
1 tsp. xathan gum
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
Pinch salt
5 tbsp. coconut oil
4 tbsp. coconut palm sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. lemon juice
Egg replacer for one egg made with dairy free milk
4 – 5 ripe bananas, mashed
2/3 c. chopped walnuts
2/3 – 1 c. chopped strawberries (if frozen, thaw and drain)
2 – 4 tbsp. rice milk

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line large loaf pan or 9″ cake pan with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk together the dry ingredients in a small bowl. Set aside.
  3. Cream coconut oil and coconut palm sugar together.
  4. Add egg replacer, mashed bananas, vanilla extract and lemon juice. Mix until combined. Note: If you’re using frozen bananas like I did, make sure the bananas are room temperature or else the coconut oil will harden up upon contact. You can warm it up by putting it in the warming oven in 1 minute increments. Give it a stir and repeat until there are no longer chunks of solid coconut oil in your batter. Be careful and use oven mitts as the bowl is hot! Me in my amazingness forgot and I have a lovely burn on my hand to show for it!
  5. Mix in flour and rice milk until mostly combined. Then add strawberries and walnuts and mix until combined and evenly distributed throughout the batter. Add more rice milk if your batter is too thick.
  6. Scrape batter into prepared pan.
  7. Cook for 45+ minutes for a cake pan and 1+ hour for a loaf or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Since there are no eggs, it takes a long time to cook, so make sure that you poke around in few places!
  8. Cool on a wire rack.
  9. Enjoy!

If you hadn’t baked for a long time, what is the first thing you would make?

Recipe shared in: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Gluten Free Wednesdays and Real Food Wednesdays.

20 Comments

Filed under Baking

20 responses to “Vegan GF Strawberry Banana Loaf with Walnuts

  1. Mmmm, that loaf looks delicious!! I love the combination of strawberries and bananas, and with my pregnancy right now, I can’t get enough fruit! I’ll have to put this on my baking to-do list.

  2. Wow that does look good and good for you, gotta love that. First thing I would bake would be ooey gooey brownies, yum!

  3. yummy! i love banana loaf!!

  4. Strawberries! What a great idea. I’m making some banana bread tomorrow and will have to give that a try.

    I was a vegetarian for years, and ended up falling off the wagon during my pregnancy. I think I really needed the B vitamins and iron.

    • Let me know how it turns out if you do end up making it!

      Yeah, I think it’s really hard to get enough iron, protein and some vitamins if you’re not eating meat/dairy without imbibing so many calories. I do admire vegetarians and vegans more now, but I know it’s not really something for me!

  5. Oh gosh, that looks incredible! I want to eat it right through the screen! :D

  6. that looks beautiful! and the roses are a nice touch.

  7. This is delicious looking. I haven’t seen quinoa flour. Is it available in most stores?

    I wanted to get back to you on the sweet potatoes. Thanks so much. I did leave out a step and they are supposed to be peeled, cut in chunks and boiled. I am glad you caught that.

    • I’ve found quinoa flour at my local health food stores. You may be able to find some at some grocery stores, it just depends on how large their gluten free section is. :)

  8. This looks so good! Thanks for visiting me at A Season for All Things. I’m your newest follower. ~ Ellen

  9. I would definitely bake some sort of tried and true recipe. Probably banana bread or some cookies. This banana loaf looks yummy!

  10. Your banana bread looks tasty. Thanks for stopping by my post on the clif bars. I never even thought of making them gluten free, but your changes sound simple and great.

    ps- Every Wednesday I feature a bunch of recipes from all around blogland. I’d love for you to stop by. Have a great day.
    Katie

  11. citylifeeats

    This looks fantastic! Good luck with figuring out what allergens are bothering you. I avoid gluten, dairy and refined sugar like it is my job, and it has made a world of difference. I avoid chicken eggs and many other sugars almost as strenuously and that has helped as well.

    • Thank you! I’m feeling a bit intimidated about it right now to be honest! The thought of giving up so much and creating such a hassle for other people when I want to eat not at my own house kind of scares me as well.

  12. I would bake cupcakes. I’m crazy about them! I just wish I could make ones that aren’t flat, like my valentine ones! LOL.

    You and your amazingness have made an amazing loaf! Sorry about the burn though…been there, done that!

    Where do you find your ingredients like xantham gum, and the special flours? Are they really expensive?

    • I find ingredients like non-wheat flours and xathan gum at my local health food stores. I have found some flours at my local grocery store but they aren’t bulk. I’m not sure where you would find things in the states – probably at places like whole foods and trader joe’s (from what I’ve seen around the internet.) I think you lucky Americans can also order flours off amazon.com. :)

  13. I would bake cinnamon bread. It is a family favorite, easy and delicious! I made a strawberry bread before and loved it. Your bread looks so good!

  14. What a lovely & fabulously looking cake!!

    I love the strawberries in here too! I also love coconut blossom sugar!

Leave a Reply

