Daniel Fast: Day 21

Well, I made it! I am now on the last day of the Daniel Fast and I am REALLY looking forward to eating meat tomorrow. When Mr. Bean and I went grocery shopping yesterday, I got really excited that I could have something other than nuts and beans for protein everyday.  Unsurprisingly, the first food I’m reintroducing is meat.

I shared my testimony today in church – I forgot that it was testimony Sunday, so it wasn’t planned. I talked about how I’ve been doing this fast and how God has lead me to work on issues that I couldn’t work on before. I also shared what I realized last time: That you are always worth God’s time and effort.

I think an example of my growth is that somewhere in my testimony I shared that I suffer from depression and I didn’t feel ashamed of it. That’s right, I told 200+ people that I’m depressed – something I wouldn’t have imagined doing even a few weeks ago. But I’m not ashamed because I know that I am working to improve it and deal with my issues. Yes, I’m going to have difficult and/or down days and days where I feel extremely hopeless, but God is there with me and he has a plan for me, so it will be okay. Acknowledging how I’m feeling helps, too!

After the service a lady came up to me and thanked me for sharing about depression. We started talking about our experiences and how much it sucks and we decided to meet for coffee at some point to tell each other our stories! I know a huge element of my depression is that I feel alone, so being able to be brave enough to talk about something like depression openly is incredibly freeing. The whole trust thing is still a struggle, but I’m trying to work on it.

My food choices over the last few days have been nowhere near inspired as in the previous weeks, as can be shown by the lack of photos. My apologies. I’ll still share what I ate just in case someone else is doing the Daniel Fast and wants to know my meal plan. You can see what I ate on Days 1 -3, 4 – 10, 11 – 16.

Breakfasts: As usual, I had cornmeal mush cooked with a banana with berries and nuts almost everyday for breakfast. When I didn’t have time to make porridge this morning, I ate two corn tortillas with peanut butter and apple slices. Yum!

Lunches: Everything was basically left overs. Terribly exciting, I know, but very quick and easy!

Snacks: I did eat a fair amount of crackers with guacamole or with peanut butter and fruit.

Day 17:
Dinner: Two Bean Burgers. I didn’t add flax meal (as I’m not sure it likes me) and instead added 3 tbsp. of oatmeal. I think if I make it again, I will add 4 or 5. I ate them on corn tortillas with guacamole, a slice of tomato and spinach. Yum!

Day 18:
Dinner: Leftover Bean Burger with a steamed kale salad with grapes, pecans and a little bit of olive oil.

Day 19:
Dinner: Roasted Vegetables with Spiced Rice and Vegetables. I loved this so much the first time around, I made it again!

Day 20:
Dinner: Variation of Kale, Sweet Potato and White Bean Soup from the Clean Start cookbook. Basically what you do is sauté an onion with a bit of ginger, then add chopped up sweet potato, zucchini, celery, parsnips, kale (basically whatever vegetables you have on hand) and white beans. Cover with water (+spices) or soup stock and boil until the sweet potatoes are cooked. I added some tomato paste that needed to be used up and a bit of tapioca starch to thicken it up – Mr. Bean doesn’t really like brothy soup.

Day 21:
Dinner: At my parent’s house for dinner, I’m bringing the soup from the night before as my protein.

Now for the fun times – figuring out what foods I’m sensitive to! I have an inkling that something I’m eating on this fast is bothering me – it’s quite possible as I did introduce some foods into my diet that I don’t normally eat – but I don’t know what it is.

What foods are you sensitive to and how did you find out about them?

7 Comments

Filed under Food, Life, Thoughts

7 responses to “Daniel Fast: Day 21

  1. I’ve done the Daniel fast a few times before and it was pretty intense. I’m glad you made it through!!! It’s an amazing feeling to complete it :)

  2. Thanks for the inspiring post! I have been telling myself that I need to fast to help myself reset and get closer to GOD — I think this post may be the final inspiration I need to actually start my fast!

    I also find myself getting depressed — mine is usually linked to being too busy, feeling alone and not eating very well. Did your fast give you a new perspective on your depression.

    I think everyone deals with depression to some extent — I think it is a result of how our society is structured — it is difficult to keep a broad perspective on life.

    — Moses485

  3. glad you were able to successfully end the fast.. it’s really God who can help us through anything! =D

  4. yum that veggies and spiced rice dish looks amazing, I am going to add it to the menu next week!!

  5. Pingback: Strawberry Banana Loaf with Walnuts | Without Adornment

  6. Wow, thank you for commenting on my blog so I could find out about your blog. My mother just finished the Daniel Fast and was sharing her experiences. It has been a while since i have done it. Thank you for sharing your life with your readers! Blessings.

  7. Pingback: 101 in 1001 Conclusion | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

