My Kitchen Flops

Today, Lauren from Celiac Teen posted about some of her recent kitchen flops and I thought that I would follow suit. I’d like to pretend that I have a perfect record when it comes to kitchen successes, but that’s far from the truth.

I’ve had a quite a few flops before. The first two were in food classes in grade school with wheat flour – I once made green, playdough tasting hard-as-a-rock blueberry muffins and another time tried to make cupcakes that didn’t have enough flour and ended up being a caved in mess with some weird lace-like structure. Yummy. It’s safe to say that I didn’t receive a decent grade on either attempts.

With my somewhat selective memory (ahem :P) I have forgotten most of my gluten-free flops and/or someone in my family was willing to eat them. The ones I can remember best are all having to do with icings. I know that I probably should have thrown each icing out and started over, but I have this stubborn streak that urges me to try to fix things instead of giving up.

First, I tried to make a meringue buttercream icing, but I didn’t let the sugar/egg mixture cool enough before adding the fat and used margarine instead of butter. This resulted in a very margarine tasting (olive oil margarine nonetheless) icing that had a layer of oil underneath. Yuck. I still iced a cake with it but thinking back on it, that’s just gross.

The second is when I tried to make this coconut cream icing from Elana’s Pantry. I ran out of agave nectar part way and used honey instead. You’re supposed to freeze it for a while and then whip it up. Mine would not solidify and stayed sludgy despite how long I froze it and would not whip up. Whoops!

The third is when I decided to use light cream cheese instead of regular in a cream cheese icing. I didn’t soften it enough and it was having little cream cheese clumpies that wouldn’t beat out. I thought that well, if I soften it a bit, then it should work. I couldn’t stick it in the microwave given that it was in a metal bowl, so I decided to stick it in the oven for a few minutes. Stupid idea. The chunkies did soften up or melt, but the icing would not thicken despite sticking almost a kilogram (2 lbs) of icing sugar in it. It thickened up a bit, so I poured it over the cake I had made and had to wipe the edges of the plate as it slowly flowed off the plate before it was eaten.

There’s also the time that I made these sugar cookies and decided that I should use olive oil instead of melted butter. Not recommended.

Have you had any kitchen flops? What happened?

5 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food

5 responses to “My Kitchen Flops

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Flops and Disasters — Celiac Teen

  2. Loved reading all about your icing flops! It’s always fun to see how each of us operates when something isn’t working – I’ve stuck things in the microwave and occasionally the oven too when they’re not working. Sometimes, you just have to step back and laugh, because in the end, they weren’t so bad :). Thank you so much for joining in!

    • That’s definitely the best thing about kitchen flops – it gives you the opportunity to look back and laugh at how ridiculous things turned out, despite how much it upset you at the time!

      You’re welcome – thanks for hosting this entertaining topic!

  3. L

    Every fall, I get memory-loss and decide that making gluten-free pumpkin bread would be a great idea! After all, gluten-free breads and cakes involving fruits and vegetables like apples, zucchini, and carrots always turn out so well–the fuit adds that extra moistness and structure. But the pumpkin bread is always a complete and total flop! Completely undercooked in the middle, and with a really funny taste.

Leave a Reply

