Iron Ring Cake

Saturday was our Iron Ring Ceremony. Instead of going to the Grad Banquet, a bunch of my friends got together and had our own shindig. So what did that mean? I got to make and bring my own cake. :)

I used this gluten-free carrot cake recipe and added some drained crushed pineapple that I had leftover from a previous failed carrot cake attempt. (I did not put nuts or raisins in the cake.) My glutenator friends were surprised that it was gluten-free as it was moist, delicious and had the correct carrot cake texture.

I iced the cake with cream cheese icing and then used fondant for the decorations. The gears were made by using two concentric circles and then a my icing spatula to cut out the “gears.” (A butter knife would work just as well.)

Since I had made and iced the cake the night before, the icing was a bit hard, which meant that the fondant didn’t stick to the icing by itself. So, I used my friend H2O and painted it on the fondant and it stuck quite nicely. See, you don’t need fancy fondant glues – water works just as well!

I’m happy that I got the chance to make this cake as I won’t really have any time until after this semester is over because I’ve got to complete earn my iron ring!

3 Comments

Filed under Baking

3 responses to “Iron Ring Cake

  1. Looks colorful – how does it taste? Personally I have never tasted anything that is gluten free. I must try it some day.

  2. girl4duke

    Nice! I want a reason to bake and decorate a cake too! I might just have to make my own reason and do it anyhow… I miss it!

    It looks great. :)

  3. Rae

    Your cakes always look great. Is it because they are always this good, or do you just never show us the flops? ;-)

Leave a Reply

