Valentine’s Day Exchange Part 1

This Valentine’s Day I participated in a Valentine’s Day Exchange, hosted by The Domestic Dork. I was paired with the lovely Crystal, who I was very happy to meet and get to know! You can read her version of this post here.

I knew that I wanted to bake something as that’s what I’m best at out of all crafty and homemade things. I was tempted to make cupcakes, but I didn’t want to send something that wouldn’t just be empty calories and sugar and something that didn’t hinder either of our weight loss attempts too much . The answer: muffins!

I originally made these strawberry-ricotta muffins but due to some technical difficulties, they were too old to mail when I finally got around to sending them. So, instead I made a gluten free version of these muffins (recipe below).  They fit the bill perfectly: they had fruit, could easily be made healthier and would stay moist during transit so that they wouldn’t be bricks when they arrived. And they were incredibly yummy, too!

As you saw previously, I made a nice card and box from some scrapbook paper I had lying around to go with the muffins. I’m quite proud of them as all I used was a ruler, a pair of scissors and glue. It shows you don’t always need fancy scrapbooking supplies to make pretty things. ;)

To ship them, I first wrapped the box in newspaper and taped pieces of cardboard to the bottom and sides to add extra strength for shipping.

The box was then wrapped using an old paper bag – how’s that for a “green” way to wrap gifts?

Have you every participated in some kind of a gift exchange? How did it go?

Gluten Free Lemon Raspberry Muffins

Note: I made these muffins healthier by using skim milk, healthy yoghurt, less sugar than what was called for, canola oil instead of butter and I favoured more “whole” flours instead of starches.

2 Eggs
1/2 c. Skim milk
1/2 c. Yoghurt
Juice and zest from one lemon
1/4 c. Canola oil
1 tsp. Vanilla
1 1/4 c. Brown rice flour
1/2 c. Sorghum flour
1/4 c. Tapioca Starch
1 tsp. Xathan gum
1 tbsp. Baking powder
1/2+ c. Sugar
1 tsp. Salt
2 c. Frozen raspberries

  1. Heat oven to 350 and line a muffin tin with liners.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together eggs, skim milk, yoghurt, lemon juice, oil and vanilla.
  3. In another larger bowl, mix flours, xathan gum, baking powder, sugar, salt and lemon zest together.
  4. Add liquid mixture to flour mixture and mix until thoroughly moistened.
  5. Quickly mix in raspberries. (Keep raspberries in the freezer until this point to prevent super pink muffins.)
  6. Spoon batter into muffin tin and bake for about 20 minutes until done.
  7. Remove muffins from pan and place on cooling rack.
  8. Enjoy!
7 Comments

Filed under Baking, Life

7 responses to “Valentine’s Day Exchange Part 1

  1. Mmmmmmmm…that muffin picture is making me hungry! I’ve never received baked goods in the mail. Seems like it would be awesome! Your partner was lucky to have you!

  2. Rae

    I love the green presentation. And the newspaper headline made me smile.

  3. How very sweet….and loveyl….aint love so in the air…and iwish u loads of it @365

  4. Hi Bean, I love this recipe and will try. My nephew has to be on a gluten free diet so he may love these ;-)

  5. Just wanted to thank you for visiting me on my SITS day and leaving some blog love!

    Blessings,
    LMM

  6. Thanks for reminding me of Go Ahead Honey… Hope I can come up with something now that the elimination diet’s over!

  7. I’m finally making a return visit after you stopped by last week. Thank you for stopping by!!

    Those muffins look wonderful. Thanks for posting the recipe!!

Leave a Reply

