February: Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten Free!

I am so happy to be able to host February 2010’s Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten Free Challenge! What’s this month’s theme?

Humour me for a while as I take you on a trip with your imagination. (If you’re like me it’ll be a great change in scenery – no snow or cold!)

Imagine that you’re on a beach on an island in the Caribbean without a care in the world. It’s warm and sunny and a slight breeze blows through your hair. Your favourite book and people are nearby as well as a cool drink of your choosing – you’re ready for a few days of relaxing and enjoying the sun and warm weather.

As the sun begins to set, you look over and on the beach is a dinner set up just for you and your party. You walk over and sit down at the table. What are you eating?

If you couldn’t guess it, this month’s theme is “Tropical Vacation” – so basically, if you could have any meal in the Caribbean, what would it be? It can be typical resort fare, traditional food or whatever your heart desires. Of course it would be easy if you could use any ingredients, but I want to add a degree of difficulty: try to use as many local ingredients* as possible.  And don’t forget to include your favourite beach drink!

So, if you’d like to participate, please create a gluten free Caribbean inspired dish and send me a photo and a link to your blog post to bean.plant(at)hotmail(dot)com by February 27th.

For all you glutinators, you’re more than welcome to participate if you feel that you need your own tropical vacation – gluten free or not!

I look forward to seeing what you all come up with!

*I realize that many people (including myself) are in the midst of a winter wonderland and local producers are few and far between. Please just do your best – for example, local to me is anything from Alberta or British Columbia. ;)

8 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food

8 responses to “February: Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten Free!

  1. man, I wish I had found this blog a few years ago (my old boss had a gluten intolerance) :) I’m horrendous at cooking without gluten (mainly, I always try to use marshmallows….duur) This blog is so fun! I’ll be back :)

  2. I so want to be on that blond beach, sipping something chilled and sparkling while candles flicker and something spicy scents the air. I’m up for this challenge and stoked that you added the extra dimension of using local ingredients.

    Spinach and turnip jerk chicken coming up….

    x x x

  3. In a word … BRILLIANT. I am so with you on this one! I already have the drink ready. I’m ready to be transported!

    Shirley

  4. Hmmm….tropical vacations with local food. Interesting twist. I like it. :) I’m not doing any fruit right now for an elimination diet, and I just found out I’m sensitive to both coconut and lemons, so I’m going to try to come up with something that says tropical without the fruit…

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog and reminding me. If I can only remember tomorrow. I think this is fun and have ideas running through my mind although I am the least creative person around. Thanks again. I love your blog and I am glad I found it.

  6. Lori

    Thanks for reminding me of a recent trip I took to Cozumel Mexico! By far my favorite carribean meal is chips and gaucamole with shrimp ceviche. Yummy! I’ll get to work on it.

  7. Pingback: ABC Muffins (Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Refined Sugar Free) | gfe--gluten free easily

  8. Pingback: Southern-Fried Oysters Are Easy to Make Gluten Free and Get High Marks! | gfe--gluten free easily

Leave a Reply

