The Face Plan: Week 0

One of my plans for the new year was to clear up my face. As much as I wish that hoping that my face would clear up by itself, I don’t think it’s going to happen. Thankfully, my face is doing a lot better than it has been before, but it still needs a spot of help.

It probably doesn’t help that I fell off the not-eating-chocolate wagon over Christmas (my decent down the slippery slope started at Mr. Bean’s Christmas party – c’mon, who can say no to white chocolate mousse at breakfast?) and that I was incredibly stressed out due to reports, projects and finals.

Fortunately, I do have a plan. A lady who works in the “beauty” section of my local health food store, suggested that I try this: Nature’s Gate Organics Acne Treatment System.

It’s good for a beauty dunce like myself because it has a cleanser, toner and moisturizer, so I don’t have to wonder what I’m supposed to use or do.

It’s supposed to take 6 weeks to work its magic, so I’m hoping to keep track of my facial progress … and maybe reduce my chocolate consumption. (I can always dream. ;) )

Have you ever had problems with acne? What did you do to get rid of it?

7 Comments

Filed under Life

7 responses to “The Face Plan: Week 0

  1. You look fab. What a great smile.
    Mary

  2. Going the organic way to calm acne is definitely the way to go. A lot of commercial “buy in the supermarket” products, as well as the high end stuff from cosmetic counters have silicons and sulfates in their products, which only make acne worse, plus dry out the skin, thus causing more acne!

    I use Aubrey Organics products for my hair and face. I picked them up as part of my detox from conventional beauty products. So far, so good. I have had terrible acne in the past, but my face is looking especially fabulous since switching to 100% natural products.

    Good luck!

  3. Rae

    Maybe you were just clever with the picture, but you already look great!

    And I have no good acne remedies. Seriously, my face does not seem to care what I do to it, it just responds to stress, hormones, etc. any way it likes.

  4. Hi – found your blog somehow and was excited to see another engineer :)

    About skincare: I agree that you look good in this picture! But I’ve been really curious about natural skin products so I’m interested to see how your experiment goes. I have issues with skin too, but have been surprised to notice an improvement that I think might be attributed to a new moisturizer I bought about a month ago – it’s just an Olay anti-wrinkle with SPF 15. Not sure what is in there, but my skin has been glowing and my breakout frequently has reduced!

  5. My acne was so bad as a teenager that I had to go on accutane, a medicine so harsh that I had to get monthly liver function tests. And so mutagenic that even as a 13 year old I had to take monthly pregnancy tests.

    Luckily yours doesn’t seem bad enough to merit such dramatic intervention.

    • Oh man, that’s terrible! I guess that’s the kind of thing that they don’t tell you when they’re advertising how “great” their product is. What is in it that makes it so bad?
      I assumed that it worked, correct?

  6. Pingback: The Face Plan: Week 1 « Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

