My New Years Goals

Given that tonight is my last night of freedom before block week of this semester starts tomorrow morning, i thought it would be appropriate to talk about the goals I have set for myself for this semester and the rest of the year. But mostly for this upcoming semester as I haven’t thought too much about what happens afterwards (see the second bullet.)

In no particular order:

  • Finish school. I know this seems like a no brainer, but this upcoming semester could be the hardest one yet. I only have four courses (for the first time in my life!), but there’s a lot to be done. Like completely designing a propylene plant for example.
  • Decide what I want to do in life. At this point, I really don’t know what I want to do and that uncertainty causes a lot of stress. I’ve got a fair amount of soul-searching and discernment to do.
  • Honesty. I have a lot of issues of caring too much about what other people think of me, so I don’t often truly say what is on my mind. I’m trying to learn that it only matters what God thinks of me, so expect more debate topics in the future as I release my inner activist. Plus, once I work up the courage, I’d like to share more about my battle with depression over of the last year plus.
  • Clear up my face. I talked about this before and my face has gotten better but it hasn’t cleared up completely. I recently went over to my local health food store and got a new regime to try once my current cleanser is complete.
  • Lose weight. Over the last semester, my schedule and studying resulting in lots of sitting and eating (too much) at weird times. Mr. Bean and I are hoping to go on a trip this spring once I graduate and I’d like to ditch the extra 5 lbs I’ve been carrying around.
  • Exercise for at least 1/2 hr every day. This ties into the previous goal and is also an effective method of dealing with some of the stress I know that I will be experiencing.
  • Do a longer-than-one-minute devotional every day. I have been reading daily email devotionals, but I want to up what I’ve been doing because my relationship with God is important to me. Mr. Bean and I recently signed up for a Scripture Union daily devotional that is a little more involved.

Why am I telling you all of this? Because the most important thing about setting goals other than actually setting them is accountability. I’m hoping that you all and the blogging world will help me with that. And unlike my 101 in 1001 (I promise I haven’t neglected them completely!), these goals are fairly attainable while going through ones last semester of engineering. :)

What does the new year have in store for you?

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Thoughts

6 responses to “My New Years Goals

  1. Great goals!! A little bit, every day, really adds up!

    So make each day count!!!

  2. Rae

    This is a great and/but really tough list. Finishing up school is so huge, & tackling all of this at the same time is quite impressive. I look forward to learning more about you as you work on “honesty” on your blog. Last month I realized that I had a lot of pent-up thoughts about Catholicism/Christianity/Conservatism that I wanted to blog and did. I know it probably bored some people and irritated others, but it was actually quite helpful for me.

    I’ve not heard of the Scripture Union daily devotional. Maybe you could blog about it?

  3. I’m not really sure what I want to do with my life either. So, I feel you there.

    Have you tried using honey and baking soda for you skin?

  4. I love your second goal – it’s something I really need to do this year as well!

  5. Pingback: The Face Plan: Week 0 « Without Adornment

  6. Pingback: Goals and Such | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

