Look, They’re Pumpkins!

So, I tried to make pumpkin cake pops for a Halloween Party last weekend.

DSC_2363-a

They’re not quite as pretty as anything Bakerella would do, but considering it was my first time, I think they turned out fairly well. And my friend’s loved them, so who am I to complain?

Cake Pops ala Bean

What you’ll need:

1 white cake mix (I used celimix’s white cake and added 1/2 c. pumpkin, 1/4 c. less water and 1/4 – 1/2 tsp. each of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves)
1 can of icing (I used Betty Crocker’s whipped vanilla icing.)
Lollipop sticks
1-2 packages of vanilla candy melts (or chocolate)
Food colouring
Green Jelly Bellies

  1. Bake cake according to directions with pumpkin, etc. Let it cool completely.
    DSC_2352-a
  2. Once the cake is cooled, use a fork our your fingers to crumble the entire cake.
  3. Add most of a container of icing. (Be careful as I added too much! I think you want it so that they will stick together well.
    DSC_2359-a
  4. Taking bits of cake, roll into balls and place on a wax paper lined cookie sheet. (I recommend making them about 1″ in diameter.)
  5. Put pops in the fridge and leave them there until quite cool. (The dipping process seemed easier when the pops were cooler.)
    DSC_2360-a
  6. Meanwhile, melt the candy melts in a double boiler. Add food colouring as desired.
  7. Poke lollipop sticks into the pops, making sure that you don’t go all the way through.
  8. Dip pops into candy melts, using a spoon to help cover evenly. (Don’t let the melts get too hot as they lose their consistency and it is not pleasant.)
  9. Place a jelly belly into the top for a stem and poke sticks into styrofoam to let pops cool.
  10. Once cool, enjoy!

DSC_2365-a

Some didn’t want to stay on their sticks, but that’s okay as they’re still quite tasty!

DSC_2368-a

Have you ever tried to make cake pops before?

16 Comments

Filed under Baking

16 responses to “Look, They’re Pumpkins!

  1. So cute! I’ve never made cake pops, but they’re definitely on my list!

  2. Amy

    Those are so cute! You did a great job!

  3. I’d say they turned out great! So cute!!

  4. Hi! I’m stopping by from SITS… these are so cute! I’ve never made them before but I might have to try these… they’re adorable :).

  5. Boy, oh, boy you foodies are going to get me into so much trouble; trying out your delectables. I’m stopping over from SITS saying “hello.”

  6. Mmmm… I’m going to have to give those a try!

  7. Rae

    I have never tried cake pops before. They are so cute, but look like soooo much work that I’d probably only want to do it while hanging out with friends or family.

  8. I love Bakerella! Im actually making some star ones today for a 2 yr old bday:)Iwill post pics so you can check it out

  9. Oh my goodness those are adorable! Way to go!!!

    *from SITS

  10. mmm they look delicious. I might just have to try this for the upcomming holidays, but maybe instead of pumpkins use red white or green frosting?

  11. Wow! Those are adorable. I never would have thought of cake pops but I might have to make them sometime!

    Thank you so much for visiting last week on my SITS day!

  12. These are so cute!!! Good job!

  13. Very cute! I think I’ll stick with making a cake and slapping some frosting on top. Too much time in the kitchen = not enough time in the studio. ;o) Stopping in from SITS – thank you for visiting Split Rock Ranch!

  14. I have only tried making the cake balls, the sticks seem too hard :) Bakerella makes it look so easy.

    Your pumpkins turned out cute!

  15. I think they look fantastic, and I love the idea!!! Saying hi from the SITSGirls!

  16. Pingback: Birthdays and Strawberry Cheesecake Raw Vegan Cake Pops | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

