African Praise Celebration

Today at my parent’s church was a big celebration because a Bishop from Nigeria was visiting. It definitely wasn’t your average church service – there was lots of singing, praying and of course, dancing.

My brother busted out some moves with the pastor:
DSC_2276-a

The women of the church did their own dance:

DSC_2296-a

I love what they’re wearing – their hats? Amazing. I seriously want a similar outfit.

DSC_2297-a

Even Mama Bean danced along:

DSC_2301-a

The men drummed for a while and then they all got up to dance:

DSC_2332-a

Even Mr. Bean went and joined them!

DSC_2336-a

Doesn’t brother Bean look spiffy?

DSC_2349-a

With all the dancing and singing, I can understand how church in Nigeria can easily be 5 hours long!

What’s the most interesting church service you’ve been to?

13 Comments

Filed under Life

13 responses to “African Praise Celebration

  1. Looks like a great time! Great pictures!!

  2. Rae

    Wow! That looks like a lot of fun. I went to some church services in haiti that were hours long, but not nearly as fun as this looks.

  3. That looks like so much fun! I love attending different services :)

  4. Liberty

    I have always wanted to experience a church service like that in South America. Maybe one day I will get there.

    Good luck! Popping over from SITS.

    xxoo,
    Liberty

  5. Nothing even remotely as fun as that! Although our priest is from Nigeria.
    Dropped by from SITS.

  6. Your pictures of the service are great, Bean! Everyone looks so happy and I think I will have to come to the next one (if I am in Calgary)…John and Mom were champions ;p

  7. wow!! how awesome!! that looks like SUCH a neat experience! and i love the pictures!!

  8. Love this!! Looks like a great church service!
    I’m glad that SITS sent me over here….it is so encouraging to see people praising the Lord!

  9. This sounds amazing! I wish I could have been there! Happy SITS Saturday, girl!

  10. Just dropped by after seeing your comment on my site… what a great blog you have. I was quite sucked in until the dryer buzzed snapping me back to reality!

    Have a great day and Happy SITS Day!

  11. That looks like so much fun! I went to a church going throuhg a revival when I was in middle school and it was always a whole lot of fun! Lots of singing and dancing and crazy-good preaching!

  12. cool pics … I”m not sharing my story — might frighten the children!

  13. You guys look like you had a blast praising God!!

    Don’t you just love seeing, first hand, how others worship? I’ve been to a lot of interesting services from moving so much. Nothing is more powerful than the music, joy, and excitement on others faces!

    You’re pictures really showed two cultures coming together as one and worshiping THE One.

    Have a great week SITSta!

Leave a Reply

