Fall Inspired Cupcakes

Rhiannon at Pink Sugar Desserts has been having a Chic Cupcake Challenge with the theme of “Fall or Autumn.” I wasn’t sure that I would be able to participate as school has been really busy, but I skipped out on studying (whoops!) and made cupcakes. I’m sure my design group will enjoy eating them tomorrow during our meeting.

DSC_2185-a

I didn’t want to make anything with pumpkin in it – I’ll have more chances to do that later on in the month. To be a bit different, I wanted to try to make a cupcake with yam in it – sounds weird, but they’re oddly delicious.

DSC_2198-a

Maple Yam Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Icing

1 c. brown rice flour
1/3 c. each potato and tapioca starch
1 tsp. xathan gum
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2. tsp. ground nutmeg
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. ground cloves
1/3 c. margarine, softened
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. maple syrup
3 eggs
1 c. mashed yam
1/2 c. milk

  1. Chop yam into small pieces and boil for 20 minutes or until soft.
  2. Drain all water from yam and mash with a fork or potato masher. Set aside.
  3. Heat oven to 400F and line a 12-muffin tin with paper cups.
  4. Sift flours, baking powder, xathan gum, salt and spices. Whisk together.
  5. Beat margarine, brown sugar and maple syrup together.
  6. Beat in eggs, yam and milk. (Note: Do NOT add one cup of milk without thinking like I did – it was an interesting experiment to drain some of the liquid off that should be avoided.)
  7. Stir in flour until just mixed and spoon into muffin tin.
  8. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  9. Place on rack to cool.

DSC_2205-a

Maple Cream Cheese Icing

6 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/2 c. margarine, softened
1+ tsp. maple syrup
Icing sugar

  1. Beat together cream cheese and margarine.
  2. Beat in maple syrup and 1 c. of icing sugar at a time until the desired consistency is reached. (I used just over 3 cups.)
  3. Spoon icing into pastry bag with 1M or desired tip.
  4. Ice cupcakes.
  5. Add fondant leaves if desired.

DSC_2194-a

I really haven’t baked much in the last little while and it was fun to get back into it despite the few hiccoughs I had – it happens to the worst of us.

What is your favourite fall themed baked goods?

16 Comments

Filed under Baking

16 responses to “Fall Inspired Cupcakes

  1. AMAZING!!! This is one of my faves for uniqueness Bean :) Nice work!! Wish I could try one!!

  2. I love that first picture. Makes me really really wish I had a cupcake right now.

  3. Mmm, those look very tasty! Too bad there isn’t a way to send them in the mail or I would totally ask for some :)

  4. Yum! I just bought a ton of Dr. Oetkers baking mixes and last night used an Oatmeal Muffin mix to make Cranberry-Apple-Oatmeal muffins. But I’d rather have these cupcakes… Beautiful photos, too. :)

  5. thanks for popping by, I wish I had time to bake things like this, do you think maybe oneday I will again??? I hope sooner than later…

  6. ::Swoon!::
    Oh, just look at all that sugary goodness!
    ::fanning self::

  7. Christine–These are absolutely stunning! You should submit the first couple of recipes to tastespotting.com or foodgawker.com. They are that awesome!!

    Shirley

  8. Oops, I meant submit the first couple of pics …

    Shirley

  9. Your cupcakes sound so fun and they are just gorgeous! Very nice!

  10. Yum. I’m trying to learn to cook without white sugar. I’m eager to thry this frosting recipe.

  11. Those look and sound fabulous! Great idea with the yam! I love the fondant leaf. You have a great eye. Thanks for stopping by and commenting at Rook No 17. today.

    Warmest wishes, Jenn

  12. Jas

    oooh gluten free too! Love it – the little leaves are super cute too! Will have to try these.

    I’m also going to add you to my blog roll – hope that’s ok!?!

  13. tastyeatsathome

    These look lovely, and gluten-free? Awesome! Where’d you get those little leaves on top?

  14. Yummy…. :-)
    Your cupcakes turned out so lovely.
    Thank you for sharing the recipe.

  15. Pingback: Pumpkin Streusel Muffins | Flying on Jess Fuel

Leave a Reply

