Well, I’m Back…

Yesterday evening Mr. Bean and I arrived home from Vancouver Island last night.  It was a very fun weekend and my cousin’s wedding was very beautiful. We flew to Victoria, then drove up island to my parent’s cottage in our rented Suzuki Swift. It was actually surprisingly roomy and zippy for such a small car.

DSC_1927

Once we arrived, we did a whole lot of not much. I went swimming a few times, including wave jumping with my sister in a token lucky moment of warmth and sunshine.

DSC_1902

DSC_1919

We also participated in our face washing “ritual”:

DSC_1900

Throughout the few days we were there, my mum, sister and made an attempt at landscaping (more on this later) while my dad and Mr. Bean rebuilt a shed between taking rows in the “luxury yacht” – an 8 foot plastic row boat.

On another note, today was my first day of school. It is such a bizarre yet familiar feeling to be back at school and very nice to see some people who I haven’t seen in a while. I now have a group for my big year long design project and I have a desk not too far from the front in our homeroom where we have classes. Eventually, I’ll need to figure out what textbooks I need, but that is not imminent.

I found out today that I do not have a job with the company I had my internship with after I graduate. While it is a bit disappointing, I’m happy for the direction (or closed door in this case) and deep in my heart I knew that I didn’t really want to do that. So, now I’m left with the question: what do I do after I graduate? Do I try to get a job with various oil and gas companies, try to find some more process related engineering job that isn’t all the way on the other side of Calgary, try to enter architecture school, pursue cake decorating or becoming a pastry chef or something completely different? I guess it’s time to ask God for discernment as to what he wants me to do and to open and close the appropriate doors and windows.

What did you do this labour day?

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “Well, I’m Back…

  1. Welcome back. Looks like you had a great time and really lucked out with the weather.

    Good luck on the job decision. It’s always a bit nerve racking trying to decide just what you want to do your last year of school as you realize you’re about to get kicked into the Adult world. I went from planning to going to vet school to deciding I’d much rather get into research.

    And there’s nothing stopping you from being an engineer cake decorator. ;)

  2. mynew30

    Hi! Popping over from SITS Roll Call for a visit!

    Looks like a fun time! Although for some reason, that water made me feel cold LOL!!

    Good luck with your job search – I’m sure the right thing will come along.

  3. Joy

    I love the idea of doing “a whole bunch of nothing.”

    Stopping by from SITS roll call to say hello!

  4. Rae

    The trip sounds great. I want to hear more about the “face washing ritual”. Does it include sea water?

    I am sorry that you did not get the job offer, but glad that it makes things easier since you do not have to work up the effort to turn down an opportunity that you do not really want.

  5. Glad you’re back! It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend! I, too, want to know more about the face-washing ritual!

    I’m sorry to hear you didn’t get the job, but as you said, sometimes these things happen to point us in the right direction. You have a lot of options! At least you have a little time to try and figure it out! I’m sorry I don’t have better advice for you, I’d probably look around to see what is available in those fields and see if any of those jobs appealed to me more than another.

    Our long weekend was nice – it was really nice to just have the extra time off. And it’s been really nice to have a shortened week!

Leave a Reply

