Delicious Lemon Cupcakes

For my last day of work, I made cupcakes. These cupcakes were heavenly – not too sweet or too sour and just the right amount of lemon. Mr. Bean who hates lemon in baking thought these were delicious.

I used this recipe – it made 24 “normal” sized cupcakes and 24 “mini” cupcakes. I used 2 c. brown rice flour, 1/2 c. tapioca starch and 1 c. potato starch and 1 1/2 tsp. of xathan gum. It creates quite a thick batter, so I added a tsp. or two of lemon juice and probably about 1/2 c. potato milk to get the batter to a thinner consistency.

Once the cupcakes were cooled, I iced them with lemon cream cheese icing.

Delectable Lemon Cream Cheese Icing

8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/2 c. margarine, softened
2 tsp. lemon zest
1/2 tsp. lemon juice
Icing Sugar to get icing to the right consistency  (I used 1 lb. 2 oz.)

  1. Beat cream cheese and margarine together.
  2. Add lemon zest and juice.
  3. Add icing sugar until desired consistency is reached

I used the Wilton 1M tip to ice the cupcakes.

DSC_1718

DSC_1722

Just by looking at them, I feel like I can taste them. Yum.

7 Comments

Filed under Baking

7 responses to “Delicious Lemon Cupcakes

  1. Rosie

    These look gorgeous, really! I believe you that they were delectable!

    Rosie

  2. Rae

    Yum, yum, yum. Now I really want one!

  3. Rae

    Oh, and I really like the pictures. Food photography can be tricky (I try and fail a lot myself) and these pictures are quite nice.

  4. Mmm lemon. Lemon goes good in everything.

  5. Mmmmm…. those look awesome!

  6. I love lemon desserts. Always so light and fresh!

  7. Pingback: SECRET RECIPE ENCORE: CHICKPEA SALAD | Bewitching Kitchen

Leave a Reply

