Do Want A Lens


So, I kind of want to get a new camera lens. I had a reward scheme at work where every time that I would ask questions I would mark it down on a spreadsheet. I told myself that once I reached 100, I would get a new lens. Unfortunately, my computer decided to eat the spreadsheet and I didn’t want to have to explain to IT why I wanted the spreadsheet back, so I lost count. I’m pretty sure that I am way above 100 though. :)

Now the question is: what lens should I get? The current lens I have – the kit lens that came with the camera – has served me fairly well with my beginner photography skills. However, there are two things that I feel my lens is lacking: it’s not very good or fast in low light situations and it only zooms in so far.

For example:

DSC_0475

This is probably the coolest blurry photo I’ve taken as it’s partially in focus, but most of them look like this:

DSC_1704-a

My sister holding her birthday cake – look at all the noise from the high ISO. The scary thing is that the window behind me was letting in a fair amount of evening light.

DSC_1132

This is the closest and best shot I got of the whale while whale watching in Vancouver Island. It’s okay when you crop the picture, but it might have been nicer to zoom in a bit closer. :)

So, I want something that does better in lower light situations and/or has better zoom capabilities. Oh yeah, it also had to fit on my camera and not break the bank. So, I looked at the website of the store where I bought my camera (as they have the best prices as far as I can tell) and these were the lenses I discovered that could be a possible match:

  1. Nikkor AF 50 mm F1.4D ($349.77): good for full length portraits, travel photography or any type of available light shooting.  High speed, light and compact.

  2. Nikkor AF-S 50 mm F1.4G ($521.47)- to quote Nikon: “Ideal for travel, event, environmental and general photography in a wide variety of conditions, with superb optical formula and an ultra-fast f/1.4 maximum aperture.”

    I’m not entirely sure what is the difference between the AF & AF-s other than silent auto focusing on the latter and a $100+ price difference.
  3. Nikkor AF-S DX 55-200mm f4-5.6G VR ($278.97) – the more telephoto-esque lens companion to my kit lens.

    The bad thing with this lens is it is not in stock, so I’d have to get it somewhere else.
  4. Nikkor AF-S 24-120 mm F3.5-5.6 VR ($615.87)- This is a more spiffed up version of my current lens with a wider range of focal lengths.

  5. Nikkor AF 85mm F1.8D ($449.93)- a more “zoomy” prime lens that would be better in darker situations that is apparently excellent for portraits. I don’t know if it would be too “zoomed in” or not.

    It unfortunately is also out of stock.

So, what do you think? Do any of you have any experience with these lenses or could give me advice on how I should choose an appropriate lens?

What is your favourite lens and/or what lens do you normally use?

Thank you for your help! :)

15 Comments

Filed under Photography

15 responses to “Do Want A Lens

  1. zoliepup

    Spouse got me the best lens ever for my birthday. I shoot almost everything with it (including Glacier National Park).

    It’s the AF-S Micro Nikkor 60 mm f/2.8G ED

    Fairly affordable and takes great macro shots, pretty good for portraits and great for detailed scenery!

  2. Tammy

    If you are hesitant to use your flash sometimes — as I know I am, because it can be oh-so harsh! — you should check this out!:

    http://store.garyfonginc.com/puf-01.html

    It’s a flash diffuser, and it really softens up the light in your exposure. Having the flash on will let your shutter go faster in an automatic setting, and with this, you can control the flash much better!

    (And it’s only $30.00!!)

  3. I’m drooling over your lens options over here!!! Can’t wait to see which one you choose! Photography is my other luv!

    Thanks for stopping by my digs today and to answer your question, I started out just running to run… ran a 5k and was hooked. A year later here I am… a running fool. :)

    Have a great day!

  4. Well… I’d get the AF-S 50mm 1.4…. you’re really going to end up loving it!! I’ve been saving up for the canon one for awhile :D

    I’m a canon person, and we have what’s called “IS” lenses, meaning Image Stabilization… which really takes care of a lot of the blurriness!

  5. As someone who has just gone through something similar with her Pentax I will give you my very unexpert opinion.

    If your goal is low light and price is an issue. Get the cheaper of the two 50mm f1.4. I hear it’s one of the most valuable lenses you can own. I just bought one for the Pentax. It teaches you a lot about photography because you can’t zoom in or out. I loved the one I had for my fully manual film camera.

    I do need to do something about my flash too.

    If your goal is to be able to zoom in a little the 55-200mm f4-5.6 will be great for that but terrible in low light situations. But it is a relatively inexpensive lens. And you might be able to find it on Ebay.

    As for what I did, I purchase two lenses for the cost of one of the more expensive lenses. I bought a 50mm f1.4 for low light and portrait photography (I’m doing a wedding in Sept) and I bought a 55-200mm f4.5-5.6 on Ebay (I think I saved like $60) for the zoom capabilities which I had lacked for years. The total cost was less than one of the higher end lenses, but I wanted more variety in my lens range rather than uber high quality right now.

    Hope that helps a little.

  6. Wish I could tell you. I’m in the same boat. We’re looking for a new lens or two for our camera.

  7. LOL my advice will make you laugh…

    Auto-focus camera

    LOL

    I hope you have a great day!

  8. candace jane

    They are all so pretty! You should consumer report them and see which one is the best. I do that on everything.

  9. Pingback: Do Want A Lens « Without Adornment

  10. Hmmm…. well, I’d love to have a better camera than just the point and shoot digital that we have! I see all these beautiful pics on all the blogs, and then I look at my pics. Bummer.

    So, I’m sorry I can’t help with the lens advice! But, if and when we do get a better camera, I’ll be sure to follow up and see which one you chose and have to ask for advice.

  11. Did you already decide on something? I’m craving the Canon 85mm 1.2, so I would get the 85 if I were you. But I already have a 50 and I”m not sure if I would be ready to give that up. :)

Leave a Reply

