Chocolate, How I love(hate) you.

DSC_1401

I have an announcement to make: I am giving up chocolate. Wait, what? There’s a good reason. Or a few of them, unfortunately.

I’ve been experiencing a fair amount of stress in the last+ month – my report, my presentation, my job interview and now my last performance evaluation. When I’m stressy, I want to eat chocolate – what sane woman wouldn’t? Unfortunately, chocolate doesn’t always reciprocate my love for it as either the overabundance of dairy (in white chocolate) or the caffeine (in dark chocolate) gives me a headache and makes me tired, two of my classic allergic reactions to food I’m intolerant to. I usually eat milk chocolate as it’s the best (worst?) of both worlds.

But, the combination of chocolate and stress = face deciding to have a flashback to angsty teenage years. I’ve been breaking out and I hate it.

So what can I do about it? I have a pretty solid skin regime (cetaphil, benzoyl peroxide & dove non-comedogenic sensitive skin moisturizer, thanks the that acne guy) and my stress should be reducing shortly (last day of work on Friday! woo!) So all that is left to take into consideration is my diet. I usually eat pretty healthily because I can’t process much fat/processed foods/etc. Except for chocolate. Unfortunately that fat’s got to go somewhere (and it isn’t just my waistline!)

Thus, I made the hard decision to cut chocolate out of my diet, at least until my face calms down. Wish me luck! I guess I’m going to be getting my endorphins solely from exercise.

Chocolate, I’m going to miss you. Especially those tasty peanut butter cups I made for Mr. Bean

What do you do when you have a break out?

6 Comments

Filed under Life

6 responses to “Chocolate, How I love(hate) you.

  1. Giving up chocolate was a piece of cake for me — I never missed it once. Then again, I was never really that into chocolate in the first place. :) While I still refrain from caffeine from any other source, my neurologist said that a bit of chocolate here and there would be okay, but even with his a-okay, I still hardly ever eat it — I’ve probably had the equivalent of a handful of chocolate chips since January, mostly via cookies!

  2. Here, let me help you. You can send me all that nasty chocolate that is still sitting about…..yeah, and those two chocolate bars hiding behind the box of prunes…..
    I’ll take them away where they won’t taunt and torment you. :-D

    Seriously though, I wish you great luck in you endeavor.

    Have a beautiful day.

  3. My college roommate is horribly allergic to chocolate so she always called it nasty bad stuff. It really makes her sick so she can’t eat any of it.

    I’ve never been a huge chocolate screaming orgasm fan, but to never get to eat it has to suck just a touch. Though she was the reason one of my wedding cake tiers had white frosting instead of chocolate.

  4. Ugh! I’m dealing with this right now too. Out of no where, all over my forehead. What the heck? I’m almost 30! I may go get a facial. I look like someone’s nightmare right after, but a few days later, all better.

  5. Stopping by from sits… my mom was a chocolatier when I was growing up.. so I can take or leave chocolate, I kinda got sick of it:) Now Skittles, I could use some rehab for:)

  6. Hi, I’m stopping by from SITS! Your name was above me in the blogroll so I thought I would stop by to show some comment love. It looks like I got here just in time, too, because I would LOVE to have some of your left over peanut butter cups! They look heavenly! However, if you don’t have any leftovers, I would love to have the recipe, if you don’t mind sharing!

    I also wanted to mention that I, too, used to suffer with adult acne and thought that its return was a result of stress, greasy foods, chocolate, etc. However, after working in the medical field for many, many years, I’ve learned that is just a myth!! WOO HOO! Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that you don’t have food allergies and/or food sensitivities. What I’m saying is, overactive oil glands, heredity, dead skin cells that lodge in skin pores and hormonal changes are the causes of acne. Here are a couple of articles about it:

    http://acne.about.com/od/acnefaqs/f/chocolate.htm

    http://dermatology.about.com/cs/acnebasics/a/acnecause.htm

    I know that your other issues with headaches and fatigue are pretty major and may still make you want to give it up. However, maybe if you ate it in moderation you could tolerate it.

    I hope this helps in some way. Good luck to you whatever you decide to do!

    Blessings,

    Teresa <

    http://toomanyheartbeats.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

