Wilton Fondant and Gum Paste: Class 4

Tonight was my last Wilton Cake decorating class. Preparing for it was quite difficult – given that my presentation was today, I didn’t have time to make a cake, so Mr. Bean went to the grocery store, bought a cake and scraped off the decorations. In addition, I made 10 daisies on Saturday but I put them on a plate to dry. However, when I tried to take them off the plate this evening, they all broke.

We practised making favour boxed (the purple thing on the cake) and cutting out shapes. I then re-made my daisies, a bunch of leaves and stems. My inspiration was daisies growing into the sky. What do you think?

DSC_1404

DSC_1416

DSC_1408

This concludes my Wilton Cake Decorating Adventure. Thanks for following along!

24 Comments

Filed under Baking

24 responses to “Wilton Fondant and Gum Paste: Class 4

  1. Tammy

    Bean, this is absolutely beautiful!!

    • shasha

      Very Monet to me….googling daisies for my hippie themed wedding cake project I have next weekend, and found yours. They are my faves on the whole web, perhaps because of the lovely water background. Either way, lovely!

  2. Fantastic! I hope you keep up with the cake-making skills you have acquired!

  3. Love the daisies. Very bright and vibrant and summery. The favor box is putting me in mind of the Mad Hatter’s hat, but maybe I’ve just seen too much about the Burton Alice and Wonderland lately.

  4. Stopping by from SITS as you were the comment above me. Beautiful cake decorating! I love daisies and I think you did a beautiful job!

  5. Wow! Great work. I’m so impressed. Stopped by from SITS :)

  6. This is beautiful :) Nice work!! Such inspiration!

  7. I really do love the daisies! The cake looks great!

  8. Hi! Popping over from SITS to see your cake! Wonderful job! I’d love to take their cake decorating class at some point.

  9. Stopping over from SITS. What a creative talent you have. That cake is beautiful!

  10. Fabulous!! Popping in from SITS. I love your cake – you’re very talented!

  11. Jen

    * Visiting from SITS

    Love the cake decoration… It’s very creative and adorable.

  12. Brit

    Both your cake decorating AND photography skills are impressive! Way to go Bean!

  13. Passing by through SITS, you did a fabulous job with the Fondant. I really want to try it as well. My sister’s best friend started a side company doing Fondant Cakes and made me a Coach Purse for my Birthday and it was amazing. You may want to check it out for inspiration. She did a Water Lily cake that looks similiar to yours. http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=58443&id=600105732&l=6e5f0b4245

  14. Stacey

    That is fantastic! I have been trying to teach myself how to decorate cakes. It is very time consuming!

  15. What a gorgeous cake! It’s almost too pretty to eat. I’m so envious of your baking/icing skills. Most of my cakes look like they could go on Cake Wrecks.

  16. That looks great. I took these classes they were so fun. Did you have to make the CLOWN cake. that to me was kinda freaky. LOL

    Saw you on roll call wanted to say HI, fellow sits-ah

  17. Beautiful! I’m impressed. You’ve inspired me to bake a cake… or eat a cake. Not sure which one. :)

  18. Does that ever look FABULOUS! WOW! Talented!

    Popping in from SITS to say hi. HI!

  19. Hi from SITS! Cute cake the class payed off.

  20. WOW. I wish I could make a cake that good looking!

    Ashley

    http://ashleyclarkphotography.blogspot.com/

  21. That looks amazing!!!

  22. Julie

    Your cake looks great! Unfortunately our instructor left midway through my fondant class, so we only had the first two classes… still waiting to hear what they’re going to do as far as that is concerned.

    Love the colors in your cake!

Leave a Reply

