Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free July: Camping Food

gahigf

This month’s theme for Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free is “Make me a happy camper” hosted by Shirley at Gluten Free Easily.

What makes me a happy camper? The first thing I thought of was bannock*, so I tried to make it and it was a fail. Second thing I thought of were salad. I love salads – what is nicer on a ridiculously hot day like we’ve been having recently? I like them so much that I made not one, but two salads.

Carrot Salad

This is a classic that my family would eat frequently as I was growing up. There’s no strict rule for how much of each ingredient you use so my amounts can be changed.

3-4 large carrots, peeled and grated
1 apple, diced
Bunch of grapes, halved
Handful of raisins and/or currants
Handful of nuts (almonds/walnuts/pecans) chopped or broken into piece
Light Mayonnaise

  1. Prepare ingredients as directed and put into a large bowl.
  2. Spoon in some mayonnaise until salad is coated to desirable level.
  3. Eat right away or serve chilled.

DSC_1364

Vegetable Lover’s Pasta Salad

I was looking around for a good pasta salad recipe and I didn’t find any I liked as they all had token vegetables. So, I made my own salad with a sufficient amount of veggies – it’s not a salad without vegetables! (Unless of course, it’s fruit.)

3/4 package of brown rice noodle shells
1 cucumber, diced
4 tomatoes, cut into chunks
1 jar of canned artichokes, drained
2-3 pieces of celery, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
Block of feta cheese, cut into small(ish) pieces

Scant 1/2 c. olive oil
3 tbsp. lemon juice
2 cloves of garlic, minced (I used garlic powder as we ran out of garlic)
lots of parsley
salt, pepper, other spices to taste

  1. Cook noodles until very Al Dente. Drain and rinse with lots of cold water.
  2. Prepare vegetables and cheese as directed and put into a large bowl. Add noodles.
  3. In a glass measuring cup, prepare the dressing and stir together with a spoon.
  4. Pour dressing over salad and toss until coated.
  5. Put salad in fridge until ready to use.

Note: I took and extra GF Freybe sausage we had cooked, sliced it and ate it with this salad for lunch today. Very tasty!

DSC_1390

Anyone else made any good salad lately?

*If you really want to see the bannock and have the recipe I can – just ask!

9 Comments

Filed under Food

9 responses to “Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free July: Camping Food

  1. The kind of salad that makes me wish veggies didn’t make me gag.

    I meant that as a compliment, I swear.

  2. Kelly

    This is perfect for me! I just bought Gluten Free for Dummies… The carrot salad looks wonderful!

  3. OMG, yum and yummy! I’m in need of good recipes like this so thanks for sharing.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog the other day.

    Hugs ~ Sandy

  4. Hi there! Thanks for saying hi. Ooooh! Love food blogs! Those salads look fabulous, but for the next week I’m not eating carrots or pasta…trying South Beach (Phase 1). But starting next week I’ll be in Phase 2…so I can start slowly re-incorporating that stuff again.

    Recent salads I’ve made…hmmm…I’m not normally a big salad person, but I discovered an amazing lettuce-free Greek salad in Clean Eating mag. It’s basically a layers of chick peas, tomato, cucumber, purple onion and a dressing of lemon juice, oil and some spices. Topped with feta. Amazing!

  5. bluecottonmemory

    You are definitely a good woman! Good for you and good tasting! Yum!

  6. Hi Christine–These both look delicious! I’d love either (or both LOL) right now. Just back from vacation and while I ate gfe, I did not get in quite as many veggies as I would have liked. Thanks so much for participating in GAHIGF Make Me A Happy Camper this month!! The entries are coming in (today is the last day if anyone else reading is interested in participating–would love that!) and I can’t wait to see them all together. :-)

    Shirley

  7. yum! we eat a variation of this salad a few times a week – in fact I’d say it’s fin’s favourite. x x x

  8. Pingback: Go Ahead Honey “Make Me A Happy Camper” | gfe--gluten free easily

  9. Pingback: Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free August: Chill Out « Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

