Wilton Course 3: Class 2

Today I made my first “official” fondant cake. I learned how to cover cakes, make fondant roses and make fondant bows. I have to make 40 fondant roses by next week. Holy man.

I used  a buttermilk marble cake and put raspberries in the icing in the filling. Do note that it’s not a good idea to use frozen raspberries – they melt and like to escape, causing a mess. So learn from me and use fresh raspberries instead!

DSC_0896I

DSC_0900

Have you tried using fondant before?

9 Comments

Filed under Baking

9 responses to “Wilton Course 3: Class 2

  1. Chère

    Impressive! :) I’ve never tried fondant, but have been wanting to…I love how “clean” it looks!

  2. Evy

    Oh my, the cake looks amazing! The shape, the color, the idea – all great!

    On a side note, I looked at the pictures of your plant and I *think* it’s a lemon tree, but I could be wrong – sadly, I only know details about plants I own. However, I did have a lemon tree a few years ago, and yours looks very much like it. But, I can’t be sure =/

  3. Wow, that looks really professional. I love the bow. I did fondant once, and once was enough. Never again.

  4. That looks great!

    I still need to get my photos posted. :)

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    OMG – I AM IN LOVE WITH YOUR BLOG!! You have so much gluten-free stuff and I’m like you, always on the lookout for additional GF info!!! YAY!! I’m so glad you found me so I could find you!!

    And that cake – gorgeous!! I took a Wilton’s class a couple of years ago but had to drop it before we got to the fondant. Now, looking at your awesome cake, I’m even more bummed!!

  6. zoliepup

    Are you serious?! You did this?! You have a gift, my dear. I can’t wait to see where you take this and it takes you! Phenomenal!

  7. wow, this looks incredible — way to go!!!

  8. doreent88

    Great looking cake, I love how the bow flows so naturally. Did u like working with fondant? or would u prefer gum paste?

  9. doreent88 – I’ve never actually worked with gum paste yet. I could let you know once I have?

Leave a Reply

