May Food and Lifestyle Challenges – Cake fit for my Mom!

lifestyle_bannerfood_banner

Hey, wait – I thought these are supposed to be separate challenges. Well, this time I put them together – because I’m a rebel like that.

So what did I do? I made a cake based on my mum’s favourite recipe that she’s been unable to make since moving to Calgary* and becoming gluten free, made it allergen free and surprised her (and the rest of my family) with it. Yes, it means that it is gluten, dairy, soy and egg free! Needless to say, it didn’t last very long.

Gluten, Dairy, Soy and Egg Free Happy Day Cake

1 c. almond flour
1/2 c. each rice flour, potato starch and tapioca starch
1 1/3 c. sugar
1 tsp. xanthan gum
3 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. grated lemon zest
1/2 c. oil (I used canola – less strong tasting oil is better)
1 c. potato milk (put 4 tbsp aside for egg replacer)
1 tbsp. egg replacer mixed with 4 tbsp of the potato milk
1/2 tbsp. vanilla
1/4 tsp. lemon juice

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and line 2 9″ round pans with parchment paper.
  2. Sift flours, sugar, xanthan gum, baking powder and salt.
  3. Mix in oil and milk – beat for two minutes.
  4. Add “eggs” and vanilla and beat.
  5. Pour batter into pans and bake for approximately 20 minutes.

The texture was surprisingly fluffy and moist – even better was how no one had to worry about having a negative allergic reaction to it!

DSC_0565

DSC_0568

DSC_0569

If you’re interested in the original recipe, just let me know and I will post it.

What recipe of your mum’s have you made recently?

*Calgary is really dry and at a high elevation, especially compared to the West Coast, where my mum grew up.

2 Comments

Filed under Baking

2 responses to “May Food and Lifestyle Challenges – Cake fit for my Mom!

  1. Pingback: May Food Challenge: From Mom | That Wife

  2. Pingback: Vegan Gluten Free Blueberry Birthday Cupcakes with Raw Cashew Icing | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

