Faith

I went to my parent’s church today and the sermon was about Faith. (I really like the pastor – I’ve never met a pastor that shouts, speaks Ebu*, and prays and sings throughout his sermon.) Faith is something that I struggle with – as scientists we are taught to question everything, yet faith is believing without questioning.

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

- Hebrews 11:1

It’s the same with prayer – I find it so easy to pray something and wait to see if it comes true (ie. like a scientific experiment) instead of believing that it will happen. An example would be if someone went for prayer for healing and were told that they were healed, yet on the way out they still asked people to pray for them about the same issue.

The pastor talked about the Centurion in Matthew 8: 5-13 and how since he humbled himself before God, submitted to His authority and believed, his servant was healed. In the Centurion’s speech, he says:

For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.

-Matthew 8: 9

From what the Centurion said, we can determine the three tenants of faith: Go, Come and Do. What does that mean?

Go – banishing evil from yourself

Come – asking God’s spirit and all things good to fill you

Do – going out and doing God’s work

The great thing about God is that when we have doubts, we can still repent and believe. Look at Peter – he denied Christ 3 times but realized his folly, repented and became one of the key founders of the church.

How do you define faith?

*Ebu is a language spoken in Nigeria.

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

2 responses to “Faith

  1. Rae

    I think of faith as a gift from God which enables us to, in a way, bridge the gap between our human reality and the divine reality. I used to think that faith meant believing without ever questioning– or even clarifying– but then I realized that, for me, I could only *not* question something if I did not really believe that it could hold up to questioning. Hm. That is worded poorly but I cannot come up with anything better at the moment.

  2. I like Rae’s definition – a gift from God! I don’t think that anyone will ever be able to prove Christianity true beyond a shadow of a doubt. We can get a lot of the way there, but in the end it will take faith to make the jump. I like that, because the essence of Christianity IS faith.

Leave a Reply

