Polka Dot Cake

I’ve always wanted to make a fondant polka dot cake. Our friend’s birthday, where I was asked to bring a gluten free cake, was the perfect opportunity to make it. Leftover fondant + requiring cake + overzealous Bean =

dsc_0037

I think it’s pretty. What’s in it? Well, it’s Coconut Milk Cake Cockaigne with strawberries in between layers and iced with quick icing that used coconut milk. I want you to know that putting sliced strawberries as filling works really well for sponge cakes but not so much for this yellow cake.

Coconut Milk Cake Cockaigne adapted from the Joy of Cooking

3/4 c. cup grated coconut
1 1/2 c. sifted brown rice flour
3/4 c. sifted tapioca starch
3/4 c. sifted potato starch
1 1/2 tsp. xathan gum
1 tbsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 c. margarine, softened
1 1/2 c. sugar
3 large eggs, separated
1/2 tsp. vanilla
3/4 c. coconut milk

  1. Heat oven to 350F and grease and flour cake pans (I used two 6″ springform pans, but 8 or 9 inch works well, too.)
  2. Beat egg whites until stiff but not dry. Transfer to another bowl.
  3. Whisk together flours, xathan gum, baking powder and salt thoroughly in a bowl.  Set aside.
  4. Beat margerine until creamy. Gradually add sugar and beat until very light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.
  5. Beat in egg yolks and add vanilla.
  6. On low speed, add the flour mixture in 3 parts alternating with the coconut milk in 2 parts, beating until just smooth.
  7. Stir in Coconut.
  8. Fold in 1/4 of egg whites into the batter, then fold in the remaining whites.
  9. Scrape batter into pans, smoothing the top.
  10. Bake 20-25 minutes for 3-8″ pans or 40+ minutes for 6″ pans. (Watch the cake through the window in your oven. Once the middle looks “set” and has risen to make a dome shape, start checking the cake. Before that and it is likely the cake will fall!)
  11. Leave in pan for a few minutes, then turn out onto wire rack. Cool completely.

dsc_0014

Since my 6″ cakes were pretty thick, I decided to cut each layer in half. I did it mostly following these instructions.

dsc_0020

Tada! Not bad for my first time! (yes, there is a crack in the cake. It stresses the importance of greasing and flouring your pans well. Haha. Stresses. I just made a really bad engineering joke.)

dsc_0021

Once the cake was sliced, I lined each layer with strawberries and created an “icing dam” like so:

dsc_0022But since you’re not going to use strawberries, you’ll need to first make the icing dam, then pour/spread whatever filling you are using.

Stack all the layers and be impressed with your own psuedo Tower of Pisa:

dsc_0023

Now, go wild with your icing until everything is covered and smooth(ish). Then cover with rolled fondant:

dsc_0032

Yes, I am a messy baker, thank you very much. Now add polka dots to your heart’s content!

dsc_0043

10 Comments

Filed under Baking

10 responses to “Polka Dot Cake

  1. LOVE IT. It is totally too freaking cute too eat. I am an absolute sucker for polka dots, and too have always wanted to make a fondant polka dot cake (but only seem to make cakes for men, and thus do not have the opportunity).

    Mega golf claps.

  2. Lovely fondant job. It looks so smooth and fancy.

    I rather enjoy the tower of stacked cakes. I could never cut a cake in half. It’d just be one giant mess.

  3. Rae

    That looks amazing. And the strawberries in the middle look like a great touch, even if you weren’t thrilled with them.

    I hope that your friend was suitably impressed. :-D

  4. Very cute.

    Hey, does fondant taste good? I’ve seen many a cake show that uses it because it’s so versatile for decorating, but I’ve always wondered if it tastes very good when eating a slice o’ cake.

  5. Cardiogirl – The fondant I used was marshmallow fondant and it tastes like marshmallows with extra powdered sugar. Other fondant is up to personal preference as to whether you like it – it tastes like sugar for the most part. I thought that the fondant used on my wedding cake was delicious if a bit sweet, but that’s just me.

  6. Stopping by from SITS Link Up! Your cake looks great!Love the colors too! I was afraid of fondant until I tried it…takes a little getting used to but now I prefer it over icing!
    Holly @ 504 Main

  7. I love it! You have done an amazing job! I would love one for my birthday too. I’m afraid to try fondant; don’t think the skills are there yet. But you definately have them. Nice!

    Merry Christmas! Visiting from SITS!

  8. Pingback: Vegan Gluten Free Blueberry Birthday Cupcakes with Raw Cashew Icing | Without Adornment

  9. It’s so cute! And I love the strawberries in the middle. Yum :)

Leave a Reply

