Would you like some cake with your sugar?

Yes, that’s right, I had my first attempt at making fondant and it turned out fairly well. If anyone has some tips to better transfer a shape from paper into fondant that would be great.

In the last week, it was both my BIL and FIL Bean’s birthdays. And what do they both love? The Saskatchewan Roughriders, of course! .

hpim1878

hpim1882

My FIL liked it so much that he was bragging about it at church this morning.

(I realize that it is far from perfect –  but this was my first time dealing with fondant and the paper that I used to trace the logo stuck to the fondant. Oh well!)

Like many others, I used the marshmallow fondant recipe.

As my crumb sealant, I used quick buttercream icing similar to this one, but use peach schnapps instead of grenadine.

Because I like you all so much, I’m posting a terribly unflattering picture of myself making the fondant:

hpim17481

I think that I used pretty much every single bowl that we own larger than a cereal bowl in this recipe. So be prepared to do a lot of dishes!

For the cake, I used the Joy of Cooking’s Four Egg Yellow Cake. Some friends came over and were surprised that it was gluten and dairy free!

Gluten and Dairy Free Four Egg Yellow Cake

1 1/3 c. sifted brown rice flour
2/3 c. potato starch
2/3 c. tapioca starch
2 1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. potato milk
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 c. margarine, softened
1 1/2 c. sugar
4 large eggs, separated
1/4 tsp. cream of tartar
1/4 c. sugar

  1. Have all ingredients at room temperature.
  2. Preheat oven to 350F and line the bottom of two 9″ pans with parchment paper. (I actually greased and floured it, but the cake got stuck, so play safe!)
  3. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until soft peaks form. Gradually add 1/4 c. sugar gradually on high speed. Beat until peaks are stiff, not dry. Transfer gently to another bowl.
  4. In another bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder and salt.
  5. In a liquid measuring cup, combine milk and vanilla.
  6. Beat margarine until creamy. Gradually add sugar and beat on high speed until light, 3 to 5 minutes.
  7. Beat in egg yolks into sugar/margarine mixture one at a time.
  8. On low speed, add the flour mixture in 3 parts, alternating with the milk mixture in two parts, beating until smooth.
  9. Use a rubber spatula to fold 1/4 of egg whites into the batter, then fold in remaining whites.
  10. Divide batter evenly between pans and spread evenly.
  11. Bake until toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean, 25-35 minutes.
  12. Let sit for 5 minutes in pan before turning out onto rack. Cool completely before icing.
  13. Enjoy!

hpim1893

8 Comments

Filed under Baking

8 responses to “Would you like some cake with your sugar?

  1. Looks really good you did a great job. Fondant is just a big ol pain in the butt. I’ll die a happy death if I never have to work with it again.

  2. Wow! Amazing! I hope Ian doesn’t have too high expectations for his birthday now!

  3. You are kind of making me want to give fondant a try (even though I think it’s gross), how did you think it tasted?

  4. Zoliepup

    Wow, pure amazingness! I usually hate the taste of fondant… but my sister (who is doing the wedding cupcakes) says the marshmallow fondant is pretty good. What did you think?

  5. I thought marshmallow fondant tasted pretty good – like sweet marshmallows. It didn’t really taste like the sugar/water/weird mixture of normal fondant, which was nice! It tastes fine by itself, but even better when you have it with buttercream.

  6. Trevor B

    MMMMMMMMmmmm, the cake was nummy:)

  7. Pingback: Vegan Gluten Free Blueberry Birthday Cupcakes with Raw Cashew Icing | Without Adornment

  8. where do you get tapioca starch?

Leave a Reply

