Being Made New

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”

2 Corinthians 5:17

The verse above is what I was told to look up after an anointing service at my parent’s church. And guess what verse arrived in my daily devotional email? You guessed correctly, the verse above!

I feel that throughout all the angst I’ve had and been through in the last 4 months, I am being transformed into that new creation. Or as the email put it: ” Jesus didn’t die so that our lives could be improved or upgraded; He died so that we could be transformed — a completely different person.” I don’t know if I am ready to be that different person, but I need to be. I need to get through the fire to be refined and let the impurities be burned away.

Of course, in my nerdy self, this declaration reminds me of one thing: Eowyn from Lord of the Rings.

“I stand in Minas Anor, the Tower of the Sun, and behold! the Shadow has departed! I will be a sheildmaiden no longer, nor vie with the great Riders, nor take joy only in the songs of slaying. I will be a healer, and love all things that grow and are not barren. No longer do I desire to be a queen.”

Eowyn, Return of the King, The Steward and the King

rotkcomes1

(I drew this while in Germany on the day that Return of the King came out on DVD (almost 5 years ago). I spent my time in class there very wisely- I drew a lot of pictures.)

Eowyn is probably the character that I relate to the most – she was hopeless, depressed and hurt and then she found new life through Faramir. I guess it would be fitting in this analogy is to say that Jesus is my Faramir.

Has your “shadow” departed?

3 Comments

Filed under Life, Thoughts

3 responses to “Being Made New

  1. Has it really been 5 years since ROTK came out? I am getting too old.

    When it came out in theatres my friends and I all went to the midnight showing even though it fell during finals week in college. Ah those crazy wild days of youth when staying up til 4 AM didn’t faze you.

  2. Yeah, it’s scary that it was five years ago. It’s pretty much 5 years to the day that I was boarding the plane and heading off to Germany for three months.

  3. Great verse. Wasn’t Tolkein a Catholic?

    My life has been TOTALLY transformed by Christ. Now if only my mind were.

Leave a Reply

