Isn’t it funny…

… that when you don’t quite get a message, God brings out his sledgehammer?

I haven’t been to our home church in a while either because of lack of sleep, having an allergic reaction to a medication or actually being able to sleep. I knew that I was supposed to be there this morning, so I went even though I wanted to sleep in more. At one point in the service, our pastor tells us of words, pictures, feelings, etc. that people got while praying before the service. Yes, God, I know that I’m dizzy and I need to forgive myself. But most importantly, I knew that I was that rose in the centre of those dark brambles and bushes being eaten by a worm that desperately needs the light of Christ. So, I swallowed my pride and went up for prayer. I cried during the entire thing, but it was worth it. Thank you God – you really know what is best for me.

Has anyone else had a sledgehammer experience?

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts

One response to “Isn’t it funny…

  1. We’ve been blessed to have pastors that really, really challenge us. The biggest for us was when we committed ourselves to sexual purity– we’d been talking but not making a commitment, and we watched a service online that moved us to decide! I love the sledgehammer analogy :)

Leave a Reply

